Remember the ABA:
All-Time Team Pictorial Tribute

The highlight of the 1997 ABA Reunion in Indianapolis was the formal presentation of the 30 man All-Time ABA Team (as selected by a special panel of 50 former ABA sportswriters, referees, broadcasters and fans). In addition, the All-Time ABA MVP Award was given to Julius Erving, and the All-Time ABA Coach award was given to Slick Leonard. Finally, the Biggest ABA Afro Award was given to Darnell Hillman, and the All-Time ABA Cry-Baby Award went to an absent Rick Barry. For the full voting tabulation, click here.

Action photos of the members of the All-Time ABA Team are relatively rare. In 1997, many national magazines and newspapers printed the list of players who made the team. However, very few of these publications included any type of pictorial tribute. Below, you will find links to action photos (and ABA statistics) for each and every member of the All-Time ABA Team. Thanks as always to Dave Gonyea, John Oznick, Ernie Leyba, Al Hall, Bob Rapp, Mark Wick, Larry Berman, George Gojkovich, Robert Hurt, Scott Haebich, Jim O'Brien and John Chapman.


Rick Barry Louie Dampier * Dan Issel * Bob Netolicky
Marvin Barnes Mel Daniels * Warren Jabali Billy Paultz
Zelmo Beaty Julius Erving * Jimmy Jones Charlie Scott
Ron Boone Donnie Freeman Freddie Lewis James Silas
Roger Brown George Gervin * Maurice Lucas David Thompson
Mack Calvin Artis Gilmore * Moses Malone Willie Wise
Darrel Carrier Connie Hawkins George McGinnis

* denotes a
unanimous selection

Billy Cunningham Spencer Haywood Doug Moe

ABA League MVP--Julius Erving

All-Time ABA Coach--Bobby "Slick" Leonard

ABA players who just missed the cut --
but should have made the ABA All-Time Team:
(more to be added)

Larry Brown Billy Keller John Williamson Joe Caldwell
Bobby Jones Billy Knight Byron Beck Wil Jones
Steve Jones Ralph Simpson Larry Jones Levern Tart
Larry Kenon Darnell Hillman Red Robbins Cincy Powell
Gerald Govan John Brisker Stew Johnson George Thompson
George Carter     -

Various photographers have been generous enough to contribute their ABA action photos to this web site (including
Dave Gonyea, Ernie Leyba, John Oznick, Al Hall, Bob Rapp, Mark Wick, Larry Berman, George Gojkovich, Robert Hurt, Scott Haebich, Jim O'Brien and John Chapman). Please note that all the game action photos on this web site are copyrighted by their respective photographers or copyright holders, and are used with permission. They may not be published (or used on other web pages) without permission.

Back to Main Page