ABA fans will be glad that the recent NBA lockout ended - the NBA has planned a unique celebration of the ABA's 35th anniversary. During the remainder of the 2011-12 season, nine current NBA teams - yes, nine - will wear "throwback uniforms" from ABA teams.

Of course, the four remaining original ABA teams - the Denver Nuggets, Indiana Pacers, New Jersey Nets, and San Antonio Spurs - will participate in the ABA throwback celebration.

Since only these four teams survived the 1976 merger and entered the NBA, how can the NBA celebrate nine different ABA teams? Five NBA teams - the Miami Heat, the Memphis Grizzlies, the Los Angeles Clippers, the Charlotte Bobcats, and the Minnesota Timberwolves - have formally "adopted" a geographic ABA counterpart.

To get a preview of the ABA throwback uniforms, click on the team you're interested in. You'll get to see a real, game-used version of the ABA uniform to be worn by that team (photos of these original ABA uniforms have been contributed by ABA fans around the country). You'll also get to see the new "NBA version" of that uniform. There are some ABA game action photos showing the particular uniform, with some historical background, comments and information. Finally, you'll see a schedule of the upcoming games where the NBA team will wear its ABA throwback uniform.

Denver Nuggets (to wear their 1975-76 ABA home uniform)

Indiana Pacers (to wear their 1971-74 ABA road uniform)

New Jersey Nets (to wear their 1972-76 ABA road uniform from the New York Nets)

San Antonio Spurs (to wear the home uniform of the 1970-71 Texas Chaparrals)

Miami Heat (to wear the home uniform of the 1970-72 Floridians)


Memphis Grizzlies (to wear the uniform of the 1972-74 Memphis Tams)

Los Angeles Clippers (to wear the road uniform of the 1968-70 Los Angeles Stars)

Charlotte Bobcats (to wear the home uniform of the 1969-71 Carolina Cougars)

Minnesota Timberwolves (to wear the home uniform of the 1967-68 Minnesota Muskies)